My Epiphany – #WickedWednesday

And all those things I didn’t say

Wrecking balls inside my brain

I will scream them loud tonight

Can you hear my voice this time?


This is my fight song

Take back my life song

Prove I’m alright song

My power’s turned on

Starting right now I’ll be strong

I’ll play my fight song

And I don’t really care if nobody else believes

‘Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me

– Fight Song by Rachel Platten




First of all I would like to say that yes I do know it’s quite cheesy to use this song in a post called My Epiphany but I really don’t care because I feel it actually fits quite well with how I am now trying to change my mind set.

My epithany actually came a few hours after posting my last Sinful Sunday picture, after weeks maybe even months of feeling myself sink further and further into a depressive state, after letting the thoughts I was having dampen and darken any little light that was struggling to shine its way through, after blaming other people for making me feel bad when 90% of it was all in my own head.
It is time to focus on the good things in my life, my family, my friends, the fact I’m living in a proper house (not a bedsit) with a great friend, I’ve got a new job which I’m looking forward to starting properly next week after my training. I’m going to have more money so it means I can go visit said friends who are scattered around the country, I can start planning trips abroad to feed my wanderlust.

The biggest thing I have realised is that I am never going to truly be happy being stuck in this country, doing what everyone else does, working all the hours available just to live for weekends and a two week holiday abroad a year. I am not knocking anyone who does this, it just isn’t for me. I’ve always lead a nomadic kind of life, in the first 9 years of my life I lived in 4 different countries around the world. I’ve lived in various places up and down this country. No matter how much I love Liverpool as a city it just isn’t enough anymore.

I have made the BIG decision and that is that I want to go live in Australia. This country is turning to shit, I have nothing holding me here, I’m fed up of waiting for something to happen that I know never will.
I’ve had this sort of epiphany before when I first decided to move to Liverpool. I know this is something I need to do, there’s a whole world out there and I need to experience it!

It’s a scary thought moving that far away and it’s going to take me a while to save up the funds (I’m looking to go early 2017) but it’s something I really want, it’s something I really need because I am alright and I do still have a little fight left in me.

 

 

20141218-111731.jpg

 

About Charlie

On twitter as @CharlieInThe
This entry was posted in About Me, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to My Epiphany – #WickedWednesday

  1. The Anxious Dragon says:

    Hey, I have totally missed the new job news, I am a bad internet friend. Xx

  2. Kilted Wookie (@Kilted_Wookie) says:

    Go for it. Your internet friends (like me) will still be here no matter where in the world you are.

    KW

  3. Good luck. Or should I just say go for it!

  4. *big hugs* And yay Australia! It’s not quite as amazing as New Zealand (teasing), but it’s definitely very different from your current location 🙂

    xx Dee

  5. As those before me have already said, go for it! Life is too short not to be happy. And Dee and I could always use some more sexy bloggers south of the Equator. 🙂 Jane xxx

  6. So exciting! I think it’s a wonderful idea. I’d do it myself if I could.
    Go for it!

  7. Yayyyy your fight is back. I am so happy to read this, even though it means it will take you far away from here, but you should do it. Do what feels right to you! And if you feel down, just put that song on, listen to it (loud) and sing along and remember: fight. Never lose your fighting spirit. You can do it!!!

    Rebel xox

  8. i think it is great that you have a little fight left in you, best wishes with everything that is coming up for you!

  9. I like how you’re taking stock of positive things and setting yourself a goal. Sounds like great steps!

    And take me with you, because I want to live there too!

  10. Simina says:

    Australia is an interesting choice. I imagine it’s hot as fuck there. It’s hot as fuck here. Too much hot. Provided my relocation works out, I plan to move either very late 2016 or early 2017, but I’m not going out of country.

    It’s nice when you figure out what you want and finally get to go for it.

  11. Molly says:

    Well done you! It is possibly one of the biggest mistakes I ever made when i was young, not traveling, not going out and seeing what the rest of the world had to offer me. I think you are absolutely right to make a bold and brave move. I have found that it is always the things I DIDN’T do that I regret, never the things I did.

    Mollyxxx

Leave a Reply

