What’s in a name? – Advice Please

I’ve been thinking about moving to a self hosted site for quite some time now, it will give me the freedom to write whatever I like without the fear of waking up one day and finding out that WordPress has shut me down. 

The thing that is holding me back at the moment though is the name of my blog. 

This blog has had two names, it started out as Unmanned Me and when I moved to Liverpool it became its current incarnation, Charlie In The Pool. Thinking about it though if I am going to spend the money on a domain name and a self hosted site I want a blog name that will always be relevant to my life. I don’t know what’s going to happen in the future, who knows how long I will live in liverpool, having always had a bit of a nomadic lifestyle growing up I get itchy feet when I’ve stayed in the same location for too long. 

Is having a blog name that is location specific going to bother me if I do eventually move out of the city? Yes, I think it would. 

Would it matter to readers that I am called Charlie in the pool even if I wasn’t living in the ‘pool? Probably not.
 

Am I over thinking this? Most likely. 

I have thought of a few new names, Charlie’s Corner or Charlie Vs The World, but I’m not sure if I like them enough to make the permanent change. I know I want Charlie to be the first name of the blog. That way it won’t be such a huge change. I’ve spent 18 months building up this “brand” for want of a better word and I’m worried that a name change will ruin it all. 

So here’s the ultimate question do I change my blog name to something that is not location specific?

About Charlie

On twitter as @CharlieInThe
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What’s in a name? – Advice Please

  1. I have actually not known that ‘Pool’ was for Liverpool 😉

    I kinda like Charlie’s Corner, but before I saw that I thought of “Charlie’s Place”, since the ‘place’ can be wherever your nomadic lifestyle takes you 🙂

    Rebel xox

    • Charlie says:

      It’s seems that other people didn’t realise it was for Liverpool either so I’m obviously worrying about nothing.
      Charlie’s Place is a good name actually!

  2. abbirode says:

    I love Charlie in the pool – I think it can mean so many things.
    From the literal – thinking of you wet in a pool, to the figurative – you in a pool of suitors to the metaphorical – you just being included, being in the pool = being in the mix.

    Anyway, I like it. You can easily keep it and it can mean myriad other things.

    • Charlie says:

      Yeah, think I am going to keep it. I didn’t realise that other people thought it meant different things. I like the idea that it can mean a myriad of things. 😃

Leave a Reply

