My Soundtrack

image
After books, music is my second love.

I can’t go a day without listening to it. Music is art, it is poetry I can understand.

It has the power to transport you back to a specific time in your life, it can evoke happy or sad emotions, it is life.

For me there was a major turning point in my life and music was the main cause of that.

I was 14 and hanging out with the “trendy” girls in my school. I didn’t fit in with them, I knew it, they knew it but we just accepted it. I didn’t really have a taste in music at the time, I just listened to the pop stuff in the charts, I hate to admit it now but S Club 7 were my favourite pop group.

Then one day we got sky tv at home and thanks to the music channels and my big brothers taste in rock / metal music a whole new world was opened up to me. A world of music that had passion and meaning behind it.  I started to seek out people at school who were into the same sort of music, I was changed forever and for the better. It probably is a bit cliched but Smells Like Teen Spirit by Nirvana was the song that did it.

Everytime I hear the following song, I am transported back to being 15, listening to it in my bedroom with my two best friends. There was a thunderstorm happening outside, the room was lit only by candle and we were just chilling out getting stoned. It reminds me of a simpler time when I had nothing to worry about other than when my mum would be home and if we could clear the smell of weed out of my room before then.

Riders On The Storm by The Doors

There is one particular band I could not live without and that is Nizlopi. I was first introduced to them when I lived in Birmingham and despite it being the year I broke up with The Ex it was the best year of my life. I lived with my two best friends in a great house, we had a group of friends living a few doors away and we had so many fun times together it actually makes me sad to think about it because we are all scattered around the world now. It’s a period in my life I would relive again at the drop of a hat. We all went to see Nizlopi perform and it was the best gig I’ve ever been to, the support artist Gary Dunne was also incredible, Ed Sheeran was there roadie at the time and they got him up on stage for a few songs,

Start Beginning by Nizlopi

The fact that songs can remind you of certain people can be a blessing and a curse. I will never be able to listen to My Way again without thinking of my Grandad. I can’t listen to Red Hot Chilli Peppers Under The Bridge without thinking of my first boyfriend. When there is a guy in my life, I will always link up a particular song to them. The following song will always make me think of Hobbit Boy.

Waiting For You by Beecake

For all this talk about songs having specific deep meanings, there are also songs out there that are just brilliantly funny. I remember taking the Tenacious D album on a school trip to New York and everyone being obsessed with listening to this song.

 Fuck Her Gently by Tenacious D

Added to the #wickedwednesday prompt week 206

About Charlie

On twitter as @CharlieInThe
This entry was posted in About Me, NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Soundtrack

  1. A_eroman says:

    I absolutely love your blog haha. You have a proper imagination for writing. Really impressed! Then the pics of you, wow!

  2. Pingback: I Did It!! | Charlie In The Pool

  3. I adore that song, have it on my phone, and it;s my go to if I need to clear my head and listen to something which drowns out all other ‘sounds’

  4. Such a great musical journey. Music definitely is one of my loves too, and as you said, it’s poetry 🙂

    Rebel xox

  5. Molly says:

    Riders on the storm is a great song. Never been a huge Doors fan but I do like that song

    mollyxxx

Leave a Reply

