My Shelfie

Shelfie = A picture or portrait of your bookshelf. Showing literature in all its glory. The term was originally defined by author Rick Riordan

Ah books! My one and only true love!

Last year for World Book Day I wrote about my 5 favourite books, which was bloody difficult as that list changes all the time like I’m sure it does for everyone that loves books.

Today I thought I would share with you my shelfie. I’ll also list the books on each shelf and explain why some of them are just brilliant, if you don’t like books or lists then you might want to read another post on here.
I have two bookcases in my room so if I listed every book I own in one post it would be ridiculously long so this will most likely turn into a two parter.

Shelfie No. 1

image

His Dark Materials trilogy by Phillip Pullman – One of the greatest book trilogies ever!

Requiem For A Dream by Hubert Selby Jr – If you have watched the film you will know this book has quite a depressing end but that’s not what made it a difficult read. This book has hardly any punctuation, there are no speech marks when the characters are having a conversation so at first it is a hard read but once you get use to it its a good book.

Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas by Hunter S. Thompson – This book contains some surreal and sometimes very creepy illustrations.

A Life Less Ordinary by John Hodge

The Melancholy Death Of Oyster Boy by Tim Burton – A Collection of poems that are both innocent and macabre, classic Tim Burton

Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion – The first of many zombie books you will find on my shelves. I love how this book is different from most in this genre as it is written from the point of view of the zombie.

Want To Play? by P. J. Tracey

Various Disc World books by Terry Pratchett

48′ by James Herbert – Definitely one of my all time favourite books, I wrote about it here.

The Ghosts Of Sleath by James Herbert

Flashfoward by Robert J. Sawyer – I first bought this book after falling in love with the tv series. This book is completely different to the tv series, it’s just the premise of the entire world blacking out for 2 minutes that is the same. A very interesting book to read set around CERN’s Large Hadron Collider.

Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams.

The Beach by Alex Garland

1984 by George Orwell

Turbulent Priests by Colin Bateman

Sadie Walker Is Stranded and Alison Hewitt Is Trapped by Madeleine Roux

Doctor Who – Silhouette by Justin Richards

Ayoade On Ayoade by Richard Ayoade – I haven’t finished this book yet but so far it is clever and very funny.

New From Gardenia by Robert Llewelyn – A utopian novel about a future where we actually get everything right and that could possibly happen.

The teddy bear at the end is from Rome and is called Ursa.

Shelfie No. 2

image

V For Vendetta by Alan Moore and David Lloyd

The Encyclopaedia of Doctor Who

The Song Of Fire and Ice series by George R. R. Martin – I read the first 4 books in this series in the space of about 2 weeks and managed to burn myself out on them so haven’t been able to start reading them again. I would highly recommend them if you want a lot of extra detail, which is sometimes unnecessary, that isn’t included in the TV series.

The Walking Dead – The Road To Woodbury by Robert Kirkman and Jay Bonansinga – This shelf is missing The Walking Dead – The Rise Of The Governor because I’ve lent it to a friend, if you are a fan of the TV series or the graphic novels I highly recommend you read both of these books, it changed my entire view of The Governor.

Catch 22 by Joseph Heller

The Newsflesh Trilogy by Mira Grant – These are some of the best zombie books I have read. They are set twenty years after The Rising and follow a group of bloggers that join and report on a presidential candidates campaign trail.

Unfinished Tales by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Lord Of The Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

Bill Hicks – Agent of Evolution

The Discworld Graphic Novels by Terry Pratchett

Falling From Disgrace by L. Maretta

Chemical [se]X anthology edited by Oleander Plume

Doctor Who – How To Be A Time Lord Official Guide

Shelfie No. 3

image

WE3 : The Deluxe Edition by Grant Morrison and Frank Quietly

Y : The Last Man graphic novel series by Vertigo – Just brilliant! In a world where every creature with a Y chromosome has apparently died, this follows the journey of the last man on earth and his pet monkey.

The Guild Comic Books 1 and 2 by Felicia Day – I loved the web series of this, if you haven’t seen it I recommend you go and watch it right now. Also I have a major geeky girl crush on Felicia Day

7 String by Nich Angell

Attack On Titan 1 by Hajine Isayama

Zombie Apocalypse and Zombie Apocalypse Fightback created by Stephen Jones – The story of The Rising as told by blogs, emails, transcripts, diaries and text messages. A must read for any zombie fan!

Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley

Sin City Graphic Novels by Frank Miller – Really gritty stories but some of the art work in them is just beautiful

Dr Horrible And Other Horrible Stories by Whedon & Co – Again another comic book from a brilliant web series that I think is a must see for any Joss Whedon fan.

Kick Ass by Mark Millar and John Romita jr.

At the end is a mixed collection of comic books including Spider-Man, Sweet Tooth, Daredevil and Captain America.

So there we have it, 3 shelfie’s for you. If you have any questions about any of the book please feel free to ask.

About Charlie

On twitter as @CharlieInThe
This entry was posted in Books, NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Shelfie

  1. You have some very cool books on those shelves, I have to say! Such a good mix of older classics and newer stuff! 😀

  2. Chris says:

    It’s annoying when you buy trade paper backs from different places and they have different spines. I had that with Y too. I highly recommend ‘Ex Machina’ also by Brian K Vaughan.

    What do you think of Attack on Titan? I’ve heard good things about the anime version.

    What I’ve realised reading your blog, I really have not red very much. This is changing.

    So, when do we get the next bookcase??

    • Charlie says:

      Damn you noticed! I hate that it’s just one that doesn’t match up.
      I haven’t actually read Attack On Titan yet, the whole reading it backwards thing it a bit to much for my brain at the moment.

      The next instalment of my shelfie will be either next week or the week after.

  3. Great collection and very neat shelves!

  4. Penny says:

    Sin City!! 🙂
    xxPenny

  5. yanniesaurus says:

    I feel like such a loser with my full kindle libary and my complete lack of actual books. Convienence at it’s absolute worst.

  6. Pingback: My Shelfie Part 2 | Charlie In The Pool

  7. Pingback: I Did It!! | Charlie In The Pool

Leave a Reply

