Learning Scouse

20140429-110718.jpg

I have now officially lived in Liverpool for 3 months! 3 months! I can’t bloody believe it, it feels like I’ve been here forever, which is good because it means I do not get homesick for The Shire at all.

One thing I have noticed, and have always found fascinating, is how the language people use really changes in different places, phrases and words meaning completely different things. As an army brat I am quite use to this and can quite easily adapt myself to different dialects, even if I can’t do the accent. The only thing I can say that actually sounds Scouse is Krazyhouse, which is a club that is only good to go to if you are utterly off your face.

You may have noticed on this blog that I like making lists so I thought I would list some language differences for you, a kind of Scouse to English dictionary if you will.

1. Come ‘ead or Go ‘ead – These basically mean Let’s go or Let’s do it, I could figure it out properly for the first few weeks because when I heard it being used especially by people at work it just didnt make sense, I would say Get In instead.

2. Sound = Great – I had used this before but have never heard it used so much in normal conversation

3. Boss – See above

4. Bifta = Cigarette – Where I come from a Bifta is a joint, it confused me at work when one of the guys said can we stop for a Bifta and just smoked a cigarette.

5. Necking = Snogging – I really hate this word, I’m not really sure why, its not like snogging is actually any better

6. Negged out = Annoyed / Stressed out

7. Murder = an argument. “There was murder last night” doesn’t mean someone was killed it means there was an argument

8. Fuming pronounced Fewmin! = Angry

It seems that Scousers also like to add and remove letters and words from certain brands. KFC is KF and Home Bargains is Home And Bargain.

My favourite word to hear a Scouser say is Chicken for some reason, I just love the “ck” sound, probably because I can’t make it.

I have also learnt that you are only a Scouser if you are from Liverpool, if you are from the Wirral you are a Woolyback / Wool and definitely not allowed to call yourself Scouse.

There have been a few things I’ve said that has confussed people mainly the fact that I call cigarettes,Straights. I dunno why. I just always have done.

Anyway, have I missed any out?
Have you moved somewhere new and noticed weird quirks in the dialect? Let me know.

About Charlie

On twitter as @CharlieInThe
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning Scouse

  1. “I’m made up” is one I struggled with in Liverpool. I think it means “I’m happy”, although I’m still not sure.

    • Charlie says:

      “I’m made up” does mean “I’m happy”. I have used that phrase before, that’s why it wasn’t included in my list. How long where you in Liverpool for? Have I missed any other phrases?

Leave a Reply

