First Date Nerves

I have only ever been on one first date in my life and that didn’t go so well. The guy spent the entire hour we were in the pub talking about how women always fall in love with him and how great he is with kids. Not first date topics really.

On Saturday I have a date with a guy I met on Tinder last week, I know what you are thinking, Tinder the place where guys are only after a one night stand but this guy hasn’t mentioned anything about sex, sexting or sending dirty pictures, unlike all the other guys I’ve spoken to on there, I think he might be one of the good guys. I think I will call him Ketchup Boy for now as I can’t think of a better name and the first conversation we had was about bacon sandwiches, I love HP sauce on mine and he absolutely hates it and only likes ketchup.
We have a few things in common apart from condiment preferences obviously, he seems quite sweet and makes me laugh. Also he is travelling all the way from Wrexham to see me and this terrifies me a little.
We will be spending the whole day together, What if he meets me and doesn’t like me? What if I don’t like him? What if we run out of things to say? He has left me in charge of what we do and I’m still at a loss. I think I’ll take him to The World Museum because that’s fun and interesting but what after? His only specification is that we go somewhere that he can wear trainers which is fine by me as I am much more a trainer girl than a high heels girl, I just want a nice, old man style pub to go to, if anyone has any suggestions please do let me know.
I think the biggest thing I am scared of is what if I really like him and he really likes me? It’s been along time since that mutual attraction has happened to me.
I know I am over thinking this whole thing but that’s what I do. I really need to just calm down and think of it as just meeting a new friend. I just can’t tell my brain to shut up.
How do you get over the nerves of meeting someone for the first time?

About Charlie

On twitter as @CharlieInThe
This entry was posted in Love & Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First Date Nerves

  1. Bentley says:

    Approach the date like you are meeting up with a friend and just try to have a good time. Expectations are setting yourself up for failure. You might hate him, you might love him, you might only want to talk condiments with him. Enjoy the day if you are having fun but feel free to bail if its a 24-hr suckfest. For him the day trip should not be a marriage nor is it a promise for anything other than a day trip.

  2. Adrea says:

    I never get over the nerves of meeting someone for the first time but as soon as I meet them I’m fine. It does get slightly easier with more experience though… 😉

  3. exhibitunadorned says:

    Does he know the city at all? If not (and maybe even if so), you could spend a decent amount of time after the museum just walking around and looking at stuff – if you’re confident in your skills as a tour guide, plan a route that enables you to show him some of the cooler sights that Liverpool has to offer. That works really well as an icebreaker, but is also a good way of bridging the gap between the museum (lots to look at, not much need for chat, easy conversation starters) and the pub (suddenly squidged up at a table together, have to engage in actual eye contact and shit).

  4. caseyvidgen says:

    I stopped using tinder a few weeks ago… too many douches for my liking lol. My coworker showed me cliqie.com and I’m a big fan of that over the others in terms of actually meeting people vs. just entertainment. It has a different approach that feels less sketchy cause you and your friends essentially act as “wingmen”. I like that it helps you find things to do too. Skout’s okay too, but still has it’s fair share of creepers

Leave a Reply

