Stoptober Challenge

In October I will be 26 and will have been smoking for over ten years.
For the past year or so been thinking about quiting but never got round to it and when I saw the adverts on tv for stoptober, I thought maybe its about time I actually put some effort in a quit smoking.
If you don’t know what Stoptober is, basically it’s a challenge to stop smoking for 28 days because if you can you are more likely able to stop for good.

Sadly I do still really enjoy smoking but there are many reasons why I want to quit
1 – obviously has to be for healthy reasons, my lung capacity is shockingly bad and I do get out of breath quite easily
2 – money- as I’ve trying to save money for my move, spending over £12 a week on cigarettes is a luxury I can afford to lose
3 the smell – I must absolutely reek but because of smoking I have a very poor sense of smell, I can only smelling things if they are really pungent which brings me on to
4 – the taste of food – my taste buds have been so dulled by smoking that I can only taste really sweet, really salty or really spicy food, which isn’t very good for my waist line

So as of tomorrow (October the 1st) I will no longer smoke. I’ve never actually tried to give up before and I have very little will power so this of going to be quite difficult. I don’t want to use patches or anything like that because the nicotine will still be in my system which I think will make me want a cigarettes even more.

Does anyone have any tips on how to quit without nicotine replacement therapies?

Everyone around me is very supportive and I have warned people at work that I might not be pleasant to work with for a few days.

Fingers crossed my willpower holds out. Please send happy strong thoughts and any tips you may have.

I’ll keep you updated with my progress.

About Charlie

On twitter as @CharlieInThe
This entry was posted in Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

